The high priest of the tower of love has left the building.

Leonard Cohen, june 2008

Leonard Cohen, june 2008

I’m bidding farewell to a meaningful friend. Unknowingly, he gave me so much for so long and asked for nothing in return. His poetry keeps on casting meaning into hours, days, months and years of my waking  and less so times.

He touched me with his poetic feather and nailed me to the cross of humanity with his nails and hammer. All this, done from within a cloud of melancholy and love.

At an early stage I have realised that our intimacy was shared by millions around the world.

I find comfort and hope in the knowledge of that. 

Back in June 2008, I illustrated Yair Lapid’s weekly column with these two drawings. I’m signing it again, with hope and love. 

the-touch-of-the-high-priest-june-2008

 

 

 

The touch of the high priest june 2008

 

Leave a Reply

