The straw that broke the camel’s back

I often raise doubts regarding my ability to convey a particular message through my illustration.

On this occasion, be it for technical printing difficulties or faults in my crafting of the image itself, I seem to have failed in my attempt to communicate an idea.

Lapid wrote last week in his column, a poignant piece centered on the socioeconomic imbalance between religious and secular in Israel. Yair raised the alarm, while using a metaphors of a car, driven by the seculars, which would no longer be able to carry its ever-increasing in number load of religious passengers.

As I was making an effort to complement this metaphor with another, I have chosen to try and depict the concept of: The straw that broke the camel’s back.

I worked on a simulation of an X-ray of a camel, who’s back is falling a part while a single straw is falling on top of a heap of straw packed on its back.

… and here I seem to have failed.

Questions were raised by some of my most dedicated and avid followers, regarding the nature of that beast, and how, if at all is it related to the article.

So, with my sincere apologies, here is the illustration as I sent it to the paper, with the hope it might clarify the matter.

The straw that broke the camel's back

The straw that broke the camel's back

The straw

The straw

One thought on “The straw that broke the camel’s back

  1. So the camel’s spine had to have already been compromised and deterioating before the last straw was added. A camel can carry 990 pounds so one more straw to a healthy camel would not break his back. Religiously speaking if you unburdon yourself regularly, then you should be able to withstand the daily pressures of added weight. Amen?

    Like

Leave a Reply

